# MINUTES OF LODGER'S TAX COMMITTEE MEETING 4/13/23

# Lodger's Tax Committee Meeting 409 West Wabash Street Lordsburg, New Mexico 88045 Minutes of Meeting Thursday, April 13, 2023 5:00 p.m.

Meeting was called to order at 5:25 p.m.

Welcome Pledge of Allegiance

**Present:** Robert Arvizo, Committee Member; Marsha Hill, Committee Member; Linda Erikson, Committee Member and Nati Castro, Committee Member.

Absent: Krystal Delao, Chair person

Attendance: Vern Richardson with Naram 64

**Approval of Agenda:** Addition to Agenda to include Lodger's Tax request from Patrick Saucedo for Rene Days. Marsha Hill moved to approve the Agenda with addition, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Linda Erikson. Committee was polled. Motion passed.

#### **Minutes**

a). Minutes of Lodgers Tax Committee Meeting of March 2, 2023 They will be presented at the next meeting for approval.

#### **New Business**

- a) Lodger's Tax Funding Request Review
- 1. Vern Richardson Naram 64

Mr. Richardson approached the Committee with his request of \$8,429.09 (see attachment for breakdown). It will be a six (6) day event (4 days competition and 1 day put up and 1 day take down). There will be approximately 150 people who will compete and they will be staying in local motels. This will take place the last week of July 2023. Marsha Hill moved to approve the full amount of \$8,429.09, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Linda Erikson. Committee was polled. Motion carried.

### 2. Patrick Saucedo – Rene Days

Mr. Saucedo faxed over his request to be presented to the Committee for \$6,000.00 (see attachment for breakdown). Several items on the request were not allowed under the Lodger's Tax Rules. This event will take place on July 2, 2023. After careful consideration, Linda Erikson moved to approve \$2,273.00 for Rene Days, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Nati Castro. Committee was polled. Motion carried.

## Adjourn

With nothing further to be discussed, a motion was made by Marsha Hill to adjourn, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Linda Erikson Committee was polled. Motion passed and meeting was adjourned at 5:47 p.m.

Approved this 20th day of July, 2023.

Krystal Delao-Chairperson

Linda S. Farnsworth, City Clerk